Feeds:
Posts
Comments

Archive for February 18th, 2010

Update on How to Grow Fresh Air at Home

At the beginning of the week, I highlighted a TED talk about 3 common houseplants that you can use to grow fresh air inside your house. This past week, when my mom was visiting (hooray!) I dragged her all over town (poor mom) looking for that greenery. If you are thinking about getting yourself these plants, save yourself some trouble and read on.

First, use the LATIN names, not the common ones. We went into Art Knapps and asked for a money plant, and they did sell us a money plant, so thanks for that, AK. But the kind of money plant I was thinking of was not the kind my mom was thinking of, which was not the kind the Art Knapp's lady was thinking of. 

My kind (from the TED talk, aka money plant, golden pothos, devil's ivy, and epipremnum aureum):

Devils-ivy

My mom's kind:

Money Plant

And the Art Knapp's kind:

Moneytree

We walked away with the last one, the money tree (pachira aquatica). First I thought about taking it back. But then I discovered that in feng shui, this plant attracts prosperity into your house, especially if it has been given to you as a gift. So since mom bought it for me and I already had it home, I decided to keep it. 

In the meantime, the plant search continues.

Read Full Post »